Mark Bloomberg was a tremendous contributor to The Veterinary Orthopedic Society as a former VOS president, longstanding member, contributor, and supporter. He had special interests in orthopedics, especially sports medicine, and made outstanding contributions to this area in the clinical and research settings. Dr. Bloomberg was also a tremendous supporter and mentor to residents. To honor this special individual, his work, and his devotion to residents, The Veterinary Orthopedic Society has established The Mark S. Bloomberg Memorial Resident Research Awards.

One or more awards are given each year to residents submitting abstracts for presentation at the VOS Annual Conference.  The awards allow the recipients to travel to the meeting to present their work.

In 2017, through generous donations from endowed Bloomberg sponsors AO Vet North America, Merial, New Generation Devices, Orthomed, Securos, and VOS Past Presidents, and annual sponsor Arthrex, we were able to fund seven Bloomberg Memorial Resident Research Awards.

Mark Bloomberg Resident Research Awards - 2017

Dr. Carla Appelgrein
Dr. Daniel Davis
Dr. Jennifer Godfrey
Dr. Jessica Leasure
Dr. Deandra Owen
Dr. David Suarez-Fuentes
Dr. Albert S. H. Tsang

Mark Bloomberg Resident Research Awards - 2016

Dr. Ellison Aldrich – Fort Collins, CO
Dr. Alexis Bilmont – Toulouse Cedex, France
Dr. Seth Bleakley – Fort Collins, CO
Dr. Adam Breiteneicher – College Station, TX
Dr. Elizabeth Collar – Philomath, OR
Dr. Elsa Ludwig – Blacksburg, VA
Dr. Alex Padron – Glen Allen, VA

Mark Bloomberg Resident Research Awards - 2015

Dr. Judith Bertran – Columbus, OH
Dr. Yonathan Buks – Glendale, CA
Dr. Brittany Jean Carr – Columbia, MD
Dr. Nina Kieves – Fort Collins, CO
Dr. Benjamin Spall – Pullman, WA
Dr. Dane Tatarniuk – Roseville, MN
Dr. Selena Tinga – Gainesville, FL

 View past award winners